Legal Status Update

On May 11th I had my day in court. I was able to raise enough money to cover the retainer and hire the Kavinoky Law Firm. After being offered several “deals” including 1 month in jail + 3 months community service, Pleading Guilty to Trespassing in exchange for 12 months Probation, and several other offers, my attorney and I refused and kept insisting on a jury trial. However, the case never went to trial and we were able to get all charges dropped in exchange for an infraction and a $200 restitution payment. It came down to a choice of going to trial and all the stress that goes along with that or paying $200 and making this entire situation go away immediately. I went with the $200.

Here is the article on it.

http://www.pdnpulse.com/2010/05/la-photographer-cleared-of-criminal-charges.html

I want to thank everyone who helped guide me, donated, helped spread the word or otherwise provided support during this hard time. If I would have stayed with my incompetent court appointed attorney I would probably be sitting in jail today. All donations received have gone to cover the costs of the initial retainer and any future donations will help pay for my remaining dues to the Kavinoky Law Firm. If I reach a point where I pay off my balance I will use any remaining money towards the balance of my $2000 Bail owed to Aladdin Bail Bonds as well as the $200 restitution payment to the courts. If I reach a point where I pay off all my legal debts I will disable the Legal Defense Fund Link.

One response to “Legal Status Update

  1. Glad to hear you’ve been cleared, Jonas. Sounds like a horrible ordeal and happy it’s over for ya. Congrats.
    G2

Leave a Reply

